Dil Ka Sauda Hua Chandni Raat Mein

 

In loneliness, at least I can lament
What is barren, I can attempt to make fertile
When I wish, I cannot meet you, but,
When I wish, at least I can think of you

Beauty has no need of adornment
Simplicity too has greatness about it
You come to the mosque to offer prayers
Do you know how many are inconvenienced?

In innocent springs, I have seen you
In light-filled stars, I have seen you
My beloved, I swear by you,
In a stream of tears, I have seen you

This day will not come again
This tryst will not come again
Clouds like these will gather forevermore
Such rain will not come again

This night, they too felt this way,
That this night will not come again
You, who favoured me with a glance
Will your benevolence not come again?

That moonlit night, i remember
That meeting, I remember
Looking at those beautiful locks of hair –
That rainfall, I remember

Eyes look up..
Eyes look up..

Eyes look up, passion stirs
The heart is sold on a moonlit night
Their gaze has wrought such magic upon us
We are dispossessed on our first meeting

Their gaze..
Their gaze..

This tortured heart is led towards them
Their gaze has wrought such magic upon us

Their gaze has wrought such magic upon us..

Our consciousness, we forgot
Our faith too, we forgot
We met, and more than this one heart,
Who knows what other things we forgot,
The words we wished to say to them
Those words we forgot to say,
I remember words of those unknown
I have forgotten words of my own.
Their gaze wrought such magic upon us..

What gaze is this, that afflicts me so
Like lightning, and behold, like a sword
My own glance a captive, under its sway
Lifelong friendships I have cast away
In company, towards them my eyes went
Countless times we tried, but could not prevent
Indeed there was magic in their gaze,
Whoever it fell on, into their heart it went

It is the monsoon, pray do not insist to leave,
The night is dark and the clouds come again
Stay a while, beloved, I swear by you,
Where would you go in such torrents of rain

Your memory has ensnared my heart
My imagination is captured by your beauty
O beloved, while your beauty stands guard,
Who else could enter my thoughts.


Leave a Reply

